HERBS Albums Released Digitally For The First Time

With Herbs’ induction into the APRA New Zealand Music Hall of Fame this week, five albums from the back catalogue are now available digitally for the first time.

The YouTube link above is a quick short preview clip of Herbs’ induction into the New Zealand Music Hall of fame. Accompanied with another important 30 minute program of the official induction of Herbs into the Hall of Fame. (Herbs starts 05:56)

HOMEGROWN; LIGHT OF THE PACIFIC; LONG AGO; SENSITIVE TO A SMILE; and WHAT’S BE HAPPEN? are now available from all digital retailers.

Three of these releases – WHAT’S BE HAPPEN?; LONG AGO; and LIGHT OF THE PACIFIC have been digitally re-mastered from the original master tapes.

Over 30 years, eight albums and 27 members, Herbs are arguably the founding fathers of Pacific reggae in New Zealand. Throughout the bands career, Herbs have kept their musical message clear in expressing gentle but effective protest.

APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) is honoured to announce Herbs are the first inductees to be added to the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame for 2012.

Herbs broke down a great many doors when they came onto the scene in the early 1980s. They fused Pacific and Reggae sounds into something unique and relevant to this part of the world; they gave a voice to an emerging, politically-aware audience that had grown up with the Springbok Tour, Bastion Point and Mururoa, and they gave a generation of young Maori and Pasifika musicians and songwriters a new path to follow. Suddenly, the spotlight had moved, and original New Zealand music could be as culturally diverse as the people who make up this country.  That spotlight hasn’t shifted back; it’s continued to expand to this day, and the vibrant, multi-cultural music scene that we now enjoy owes much of its existence to this one band.” Don McGlashan, APRA New Zealand Writer Director.

Herbs members being inducted are: Dilworth Karaka, Toni Fonoti, Phil Toms, Spencer Fusimalohi, John Berkley, Fred Faleauto and Charles Tumahai (deceased), Maurice Watene, Tama Lundon, Jack Allen, Carl Perkins, Willie Hona, Thom Nepia, Tama Renata, Gordon Joll, Grant Pukeroa, Kristen Hapi.

Herbs will be honoured and inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards, Auckland Town Hall on Thursday 13th September 2012.


~ by admin on 9 July, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: